Friday, 15 May 2015

My top tips for those who are allergic to dairy

Free from’ foods: Most of the major supermarkets advertise the products they sell in their ‘free from’ section. However I am yet to find a list of products that can be found outside of the free from section and that are also dairy free.  Therefore, I have decided to create these lists myself with my new ‘Free from and Beyond’ series of blog posts! 

Be sure to check back to see the latest posts!
 I will be sharing a new category every week and hopefully these posts will be able to aid any dairy free ‘newbies’. Maybe a few of those mature dairy freebies will also be able to make a new discovery too!

However, here’s a few of my general top tips of those who are allergic to dairy:

+ Ingredients in products are always changing, so always check the label, even if you have been eating the product for a long period of time. Same goes for when you are eating out at your favorite restaurant that you visit every month.

+Don’t assume that all products in the ‘free from’ section are free from all allergies. Only some of them are free from milk.

+ Don’t always assume that the only products you can eat are from the special ranges in shops, such as the free from section! (See my other posts for more dairy free options)

+Just because a product doesn't clearly advertise ‘dairy free’ on the packaging, it doesn't mean it’s not dairy free! Always read the labels, you will be surprised!

+ Some products from the ‘free from’ range are expensive and the supermarkets do their own version which is always a lot cheaper and dairy free too!

+ If you are not severely allergic, when I say this I mean you don’t have to be hospitalised on consumption, then you can also probably eat products that ‘May Contain Milk’. This phrase simply means that the product has been made in a factory where other dairy products are present. The chance of any dairy free products getting whey powder or milk into the product is probably a 95% chance. Therefore, if you can deal with taking the smallest risk, you will find your options of what you can eat will double.

+ Be aware that Milk is sometimes found in the following ingredients ( if these ingredients are present then the allergy label will read 'contains milk'



Natural flavorings

Flavoring

Caramel flavoring
High protein flour
Lactic acid (usually not a problem)
Lactic acid starter culture
“Non-dairy” products (may contain casein)
Rice cheese
Soy cheese


+ When you are not consuming milk you are not getting the 'normal' amount of Calcium and Vitamin A & D. Therefore taking vitamin tablets is always helpful.



+Don’t let people judge you, at the end of the day its not your choice to be allergic to dairy, it just happens! 

+Be Happy, Enjoy your food!



No comments:

Post a Comment

01 09 10